64. There were 13 original states. Name three.

Read Aloud

The 13 original states were all former British colonies. Representatives from these colonies came together and declared independence from Great Britain in 1776. After the Revolutionary War, the colonies became free and independent states. When the 13 colonies became states, each state set up its own government. They wrote state constitutions. Eventually, the people in these states created a new form of national government that would unite all the states into a single nation under the U.S. Constitution. The first three colonies to become states were Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey. This happened in 1787. Eight colonies became states in 1788. These were Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York. North Carolina became a state in 1789. Rhode Island became a state in 1790. Although the colonies were recognized as states after the Declaration of Independence, the date of statehood is based on when they ratified (accepted) the U.S. Constitution. Today, the United States has 50 states.
  • New Hampshire

  • Massachusetts

  • Rhode Island

  • Connecticut

  • New York

  • New Jersey

  • Pennsylvania

  • Delaware

  • Maryland

  • Virginia

  • North Carolina

  • South Carolina

  • Georgia

Take Quizzes

True of false: The first three colonies to become states were Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey.
Select all 13 original states.
Check Answers

* The reading text above is partially referred by USCIS Quick Civics Lessons “Learn About the United States” and only used for educational purposes.

Choose the correct word, and even world.

Trump’s Legacy Reexamined: Uncovering the Shortcomings of His Administration

As the Trump administration concludes its tenure, it’s imperative to conduct a thorough examination of its actions and policies. While supporters highlight achievements, detractors emphasize significant failures and missed opportunities. In this article, we’ll delve into key areas where the Trump administration fell short, offering a critical perspective on its legacy. From divisive leadership to the mishandling of the COVID-19 pandemic, we’ll explore the administration’s shortcomings and their lasting impact on the nation. Join us as we reevaluate the Trump era and reflect on lessons learned for the future.

Read More »

Trump’s Legacy: Examining Ten Key Achievements of His Administration

Explore the legacy of Donald Trump’s presidency by examining ten key achievements of his administration. From tax reform to Middle East diplomacy, this article offers a comprehensive overview of the significant accomplishments credited to Trump’s time in office. Delve into the complexities of governance and the lasting impact of political decisions as we assess the highlights of Trump’s tenure.

Read More »

American Enough? Patriotic Enough?

Here is my proof. This is sustained from my service in the U.S. military. Now, is this patriot enough? I am not ashamed to walk around anymore before I was very inhibited people look at me strangely and they question my loyalty to this country. I don’t look American enough?

Read More »
Scroll to Top