Read Aloud

There are 13 stripes on the flag because there were 13 original colonies. We call the American flag “the Stars and Stripes.” For 18 years after the United States became an independent country, the flag had only 13 stripes. In 1794, Kentucky and Vermont joined the United States, and two stripes were added to the flag. In 1818, Congress decided that the number of stripes on the flag should always be 13. This would honor the original states that were colonies of Great Britain before America’s independence.

Take Quizzes

True of false: France gave the statue to the United States as a gift of friendship
Why does the flag have 13 stripes?
Check Answers

* The reading text above is partially referred by USCIS Quick Civics Lessons “Learn About the United States” and only used for educational purposes.

Choose the correct word, and even world.

American Enough? Patriotic Enough?

Here is my proof. This is sustained from my service in the U.S. military. Now, is this patriot enough? I am not ashamed to walk around anymore before I was very inhibited people look at me strangely and they question my loyalty to this country. I don’t look American enough?

Read More »